Explore Mwangaza Partnership on Facebook
space Explore the issues and our perspective space Be inspired by poignant stories, news and publications space Make a difference: online donations, getting involved and more
Give Here space


Tanzania History & Culture | Government

Tanzania MapThe United Republic of Tanzania, located in central East Africa, borders Kenya and Uganda to the north, Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south. Its eastern borders lie on the Indian Ocean.

Tanzania is a republic composed of 26 regions. Jakaya Kikwete, elected in 2005, is the fourth president to lead this country since its independence from Great Britain in 1961. Julius Nyerere, Ali Hassan Mwinyi and Benjamin Mkapa each served their full two terms of 10 years total.

Since 1996, Dodoma has been the official capital of Tanzania where parliament and some government offices are located. Between independence and 1996, Dar es Salaam served as capital and continues as the principal commercial city of Tanzania and the de-facto seat of most government institutions.

In 2010, Tanzania democratically elected Jakaya Kikwete to his second five-year term as President. According to the Constitution, there is rotation between Christian and Muslim presidents. Nyerere was Christian, Mwinyi Muslim, Mkapa, Christian and now Kikwete, Muslim. This provides assurance in a country with populations of approximately one-third each Christian, Muslim and traditional believers, that no religious constituency can prevail in governance.


Mwangaza Partnership for education, health, family and faith home